Skip to content

Commission for Senior Services

Regular Meeting Schedule for 2018

4:00 PM, Senior Center Lounge

Please check calendar for possible date, time and room location changes.

January 17 February 21 March 21
April 18 May 16 June 20
July 18 August 15 September 12
October 17 November 7 December 12

Commission Members

Camille Bertrand Chairman
Kathleen A. Blersch Member
Mary H. Dunn Member
Yvette A. Mickenberg Member
Tamath K. Rossi Member
Catherine S. Sperry Member
Christine B. Tolley Member

Mission/General Information

Seven members, one of whom shall be the Municipal Agent, appointed by the First Selectman and six of whom are appointed by the Board of Selectmen on a rotating basis: three for four year terms. Non-voting, ex-officio members may include the Senior Center Coordinator, Administrative Assistant and Lead Driver. The commission meets on the third Thursday of the month at 3:30 pm in the lounge at the Senior Center.

Powers and Duties: Promotes programs and advocates on behalf of Southbury’s elderly residents, assists the Town’s Director of Senior Services in developing policies on local issues affecting seniors. The commission also informs residents about issues related to the elderly and advocates for state and federal services and legislation on their behalf.

Qualifications: Commission members should have demonstrated interest and concern for the social needs of the elderly and be familiar with issues of health care, housing and financial needs. Most desirable, would be those with special backgrounds or experience in the related fields of business, health care, mental health, nursing and/or geriatrics.

Minutes & Agendas

Listing files in 'Commission for Senior Services'