Skip to content

Agricultural Sub Committee

Committee Members

Vacancy Chair
Denise Forgione Secretary
Dave Blersch Member
Rollin Hannon Jr. Member
Bill McAllister Member
Dan Slywka Member

Mission/General Information

As farming is an important economic activity in the Town of Southbury, and preserving our rural heritage continues to be important to the residents of Southbury, the purpose of the Agricultural Sub Committee of the EDC is to support, protect and encourage farming activities within the Town.

Following the objectives outlined in the Town’s Plan of Conservation and Development, the sub-committee will coordinate with other Town boards and commissions to support farming activity in the Town, become a source of information for farmers and non-farmers alike and seek farmland preservation when possible.

The Agricultural Sub-committee will be comprised of both farmers and non-farming residents of Southbury who have an interest in preserving farming as an industry in the Town.

Anyone with an interest in agriculture is welcome to participate in our meetings!

Additional Information

  • Interested in Agriculture? Want to learn about what you need to know to be a farmer in CT? The CT Department of Agriculture web site is the place to start. It covers laws, regulations, tax breaks and the responsibilities of the agricultural community in CT. Visit the site at Be sure to sign up for the Weekly Agricultural Report, a free newsletter from DOAG.

Minutes and Agendas

Listing files in 'Agricultural Sub-Committee'